Disclosure: Ziyad Finance receives no fee from any provider named in this article. Provider links go to their own websites. This is education, not advice.
Last updated: 12 September 2026. Rates and criteria checked 12 September 2026 against each provider's published product guide.
Quick answer: Gatehouse Bank is the cheapest halal mortgage in every deposit band in September 2026, by 0.12% over Offa and by 0.5% to 0.6% over StrideUp. Offa wins if your income is the constraint (up to 7x). StrideUp wins if your case is unusual: one year of self-employed accounts, four applicants, or a lower-value property. Only Gatehouse and Offa go to a 5% deposit; only Gatehouse and Offa lend in Wales.
Three providers will give most UK buyers a halal mortgage. Kuwait Finance House is the fourth, but it wants £250,000 of finance, a 30% deposit and a London-area property, so it is a different conversation. The three price differently at every deposit, refuse different properties and treat income differently. Here is the whole comparison in one place.
Every figure is for a £300,000 home over 30 years. The halal mortgage calculator produces the same table at your own price, and our Islamic mortgage UK guide covers all four providers, including Kuwait Finance House.
Two year fixed rates and monthly payments
| Deposit | Gatehouse | Offa | StrideUp |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | 6.78% · £1,854 | 6.90% · £1,877 | not offered |
| 10% | 6.48% · £1,703 | 6.60% · £1,724 | 7.04% · £1,804 |
| 15% | 6.48% · £1,608 | 6.60% · £1,629 | 6.94% · £1,686 |
| 20% | 5.68% · £1,390 | 5.80% · £1,408 | 6.24% · £1,476 |
| 35% | 5.68% · £1,129 | 5.80% · £1,144 | 6.19% · £1,193 |
Five year fixed rates and monthly payments
| Deposit | Gatehouse | Offa | StrideUp |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5% | 6.76% · £1,850 | 6.88% · £1,873 | not offered |
| 10% | 6.46% · £1,699 | 6.58% · £1,721 | 7.14% · £1,822 |
| 20% | 5.76% · £1,402 | 5.88% · £1,420 | 6.34% · £1,492 |
| 35% | 5.63% · £1,123 | 5.75% · £1,138 | 6.24% · £1,199 |
Cheapest in bold. Gatehouse's green rates (EPC A or B) are a further 0.10% lower. Offa also offers discounted variable rates of 5.50% at 65% FTV and 5.60% at 80% FTV, which are the lowest numbers on this page but move with the market.
Verdict on price: Gatehouse. On a £240,000 plan the difference is £18 a month against Offa and £86 against StrideUp. Rate is not the whole story, and the next three sections are where the other two win.
Fees and follow-on rates
| Gatehouse | Offa | StrideUp | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application fee | £149 | £149 | none |
| Product fee | £499 (£999 above 80% FTV) | £499 (£999 above 80% FTV) | £1,249 |
| Total at 90% FTV | £1,148 | £1,178 incl. £30 transfer | £1,249 |
| Follow-on rate | 7.25% | not published | 7.99% (Bank Rate + 4.24%) |
| Early payment charge | 1% to 3% during fix | 1% to 5% during product period | above annual allowance, per offer |
| Fee-free overpayment | 10% a year, min £2,000 | annual allowance | annual allowance |
Gatehouse's fee-free refinance range (from 4 September 2026) removes both fees for people switching from an existing mortgage, up to 80% FTV.
Who each provider will and will not lend to
| Gatehouse | Offa | StrideUp | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Where | England and Wales | England and Wales | England only |
| Minimum deposit | 5% purchase, 10% refinance | 5% | 10% (15% new build house, 20% new build flat) |
| Finance range | £75k to £5m | £60k to £1m | £50k to £1.5m (£1m above 80% FTV) |
| Minimum property value | not stated (min finance £75k) | £80k | £75k |
| Term | 5 to 40 years | 7 to 40 years | 5 to 40 years |
| Income multiple | 6x to 80% FTV, 5.5x to 90%, 4.49x above | up to 7x, subject to affordability | not published |
| Minimum income | £15k (£20k above 90% FTV) | not stated | not stated |
| Applicants | ask Gatehouse | up to 4 with Family Assist | up to 4 |
| Self-employed | 2 years of accounts | case by case | from 1 year |
| Gifted deposit | family | family, plus Family Assist | family or friends |
| Expats | yes, separate products | yes, at 65% and 80% FTV | no |
| New build flats | max 75% FTV | check with Offa | 20% deposit |
| Shariah certification | Gatehouse Shariah Supervisory Board | Amanah Advisors | Amanah Advisors |
| FCA reference | Gatehouse Bank plc, 475346 | Offa Money Ltd, 1000573 | StrideUp Homes Ltd, 785299 |
Verdicts by buyer
First-time buyer, 10% to 15% deposit, England. Gatehouse on price. Offa if your income is the constraint: 7x against Gatehouse's 5.5x at 90% FTV is the difference between a £250,000 plan and a £315,000 plan on a £45,000 salary, although Offa's affordability check will not always let you reach the ceiling.
First-time buyer, 5% deposit. Only Gatehouse and Offa go to 95%. Gatehouse is cheaper by £23 a month, but its 95% product is purchase only and needs £20,000 minimum income. Read how much deposit do you need before you commit to 5%; the jump to 10% saves £151 a month.
Buying in Wales. Gatehouse or Offa. StrideUp does not lend there.
Buying with siblings, parents or friends. StrideUp and Offa both take four applicants. Offa's Family Assist lets a relative hold a share of the plan rather than gifting cash, which some families prefer.
Self-employed with one year of accounts. StrideUp is the only one that will usually look at you. The rate premium is the price of that flexibility.
New build flat. Gatehouse caps at 75% FTV and StrideUp wants 20% down; check Offa's current position before you offer. Budget for a 25% deposit or choose a house.
Refinancing from a conventional mortgage. Gatehouse's fee-free range up to 80% FTV. Above 80%, Offa refinances to 95% and Gatehouse to 90%.
Larger plans, £600,000 and up. Gatehouse to £5m. StrideUp to £1.5m below 80% FTV. Offa stops at £1m. Above £250,000 with a 30% deposit in London, KFH's 5.50% to 5.875% variable is worth a look.
Related reading: Is a mortgage haram? covers what scholars say about conventional mortgages, and Islamic banks in the UK lists every Shariah-compliant bank and home finance provider.
Frequently asked questions
Is Offa safe to use? It only launched in February 2026. Offa Money Ltd is FCA-authorised (FRN 1000573) and its plans are regulated Home Purchase Plans with Financial Ombudsman access. It also took on the remaining Alburaq plans written through Bank of Ireland, so it is not administering plans for the first time.
Why is StrideUp dearer? It takes cases the other two will not: one year of accounts, four applicants, gifts from friends, lower minimum property values. Its rate reflects that. If you fit Gatehouse's criteria, Gatehouse will usually be cheaper.
Can I apply to all three? You can get a decision in principle from each; Gatehouse and StrideUp both say theirs does not affect your credit score. A full application does. Pick one for the full application.
Do I need a broker for any of them? No. All three take direct applications, and Gatehouse gives free advice directly. KFH's fixed rates are broker only.
What we recommend
Run the halal mortgage calculator at your price and deposit. It applies every rule in the table above, greys out the providers that will not lend to you, and tells you why. Read the greyed-out reasons: they are usually about the property or the region, and both can be changed before you apply.
If your case is unusual, self-employed, several applicants, a new build, or an income multiple question, an hour on a Home Buying Plan call will get the shape of it right before you spend money on valuations.
Ziyad Finance provides educational guidance only and is not a mortgage adviser. We do not arrange home finance and receive no fee from any provider named here. Rates and criteria are the providers' published figures for new UK-resident customers, checked 12 September 2026, and change often; confirm with the provider before applying. Shariah compliance is based on each provider's own certification; verify with your own scholar if unsure. Your home may be repossessed if you do not keep up payments on your Home Purchase Plan. Read our full disclaimer.



